Geek Squad Reviews

Please provide a review about your experience with Geek Squad at Best Buy computer repair service. Be sure to select a star rating of 1 thru 5 stars taking into considering such factors such as their customer service, price comparison, value, quality of service provided, and any other factors important to you.

Are you an unsatisfied customer? Have you been scammed by Geek Squad? You can post a complaint or even post a warning about Geek Squad service to their potential clients. Are you a satisfied Geek Squad Best Buy customer that wants to tell everyone about your experience? Please share your feedback with the online community by posting here.

  1. 0 stars
    I am glad i just read the reviews today. I had an appointment scheduled a week out. It was for today. Today, i got a call from the Scheduling Department saying “for unforeseen reasons” we are going to have to cancel your appointment. They gave no other explanation, and said they would RE-SCHEDULE me for ANOTHER week out. They would mean that my computer was down for 2 weeks now. Due to there un-professionalism, i decided to research the company more. I will look at this as a blessing in disguise upon reading all the horrible reviews. STAY AWAY from the Geeksquad and go to a more trusted and established online computer repair company. We found an online repair company named safepcfix.com, (another reviewer here suggested it.) They were able to repair the computer properly and get us back up and running. All without having to take apart our machine and take it anywhere. The most valuable part to us was that our technician called the manager at best buy and asked them to refund our money because they didn’t fix it correctly. The refund more than paid for the “work” those guys did to our computer.

  2. I stopped in to drop off my laptop that I’ve been needing to get repaired for a few months now due to some slowness and what seemed like virus type issues. I was told that there were “no appointments available” and I’d “need to make a reservation”. It took me months just to find time to drop it off, but alas, I needed to get it fixed. I scheduled an appt for the following week. I asked if I could simply just leave it, they get to it when they get to it, and I’d pick it up later. Nope. No worries. Brought it in the following week. Waited 9 days before I got a call back saying that they were still working on it. I finally got it picked up a FULL TWO WEEKS after it was dropped off. Once I got it home, plugged everything in, and typed in my password, the virus popped up on my screen again. NO RESOLUTION. I cant even understand what they did. I had to find someone to get it fixed correctly. So I was happy to find http://www.safepcfix.com, and online based, but local to us shop. They were actually able to connect to my computer and repair it the same day- The guy also called best buy and wrote up a report on the damages on the computer so I could get a refund. It took them a week or so, but he got all of my money refunded. It always makes me feel better to support smaller businesses anyway! They saved me money over the geek squad and fixed it much faster and so far, so good!

  3. T Hussmann
    Feb 12, 2014

    1

    My laptop screen broke, and since I had bought the protection, I took it in to the GS. I was told that it would have to be sent out for service. That was on January 24th. I was told it would be Feb 10th before I got my computer back. I ask how people were supposed to be without their computer for over 2 weeks in this day and age, and the service guy suggested I buy a new computer! It took 10 days for the computer to get to the service center – apparently they walked it there. Twice according to the service log, they had the parts they needed and then all of the sudden they were waiting for parts. Won’t be buying any products from Best Buy anytime in the near future.

  4. Mercedes Belarde
    Feb 7, 2014

    1

    On January 11, 2014 I bought my contract from Adolfo and he was suppose to send it to me via my e-mail. I never got one.

  5. My daughter dropped her laptop and the screen was cracked. Luckily it was still under warranty, they fixed it at no charge. Unfortunately, my graceful daughter dropped it again a week after it was home and it appeared to be broken again. This time my warranty had run out, so Geek Squad charged me a fee to have it shipped to TN for diagnostics. The diagnosis came back as not only was the screen broke, they said there were many other things broken and was going to cost over $700…more than what the laptop cost when I bought it. I said no thanks, give me my laptop which of course I got it back and they kept the $89 for the diagnostic fee. I held onto the laptop considering what to do when my friend suggested I hook it up to my desktop monitor, see what happens. I did and something popped up on my monitor, so I called SafePCFix, as someone suggested here, and didn’t tell them exactly what Geek Squad said was wrong with it but in a round about way. They said “Geek Squad is the reason guys like us are in business!” And Geek Squad had put a password on my laptop (I’m assuming for my protection) however they did not remove it when they gave it back to me. These guys were able to by-pass the code and run their diagnostics on it. Guess what…only the screen needed to be replaced as I expected. Geek Squad is a total rip off and I’d give them a zero if I could! Check out the safepcfix guys for things like this. They’re honest and want their customers to return to them!

  6. Less than one star except one Geek Squad technician in a Best Buy Store in Southern California who is great. The remote technical support is horrible. Buy a technical support contract from the manufacture of the item instead of Geek Squad. Took over a dozen phone calls just to change the phone number on my geeksquad contract.

  7. Mabrie Kidd
    Jan 31, 2014

    5

    I took my computer to Fry’s and was told the keyboard was bad and I would need to purchase a new one which I did. Got home, it did not work either. Today I went to GeekSquad at Best Buy in Oxnard. “ROB” fixed my problem within about 10 minutes and was extremely pleasant while doing so. Thanks Rob!

  8. LEE DELSON
    Jan 31, 2014

    1

    SERVCE STINKS, REALLY STINKS!

    SAVE YOUR MONEY! TWO YEARS AGO THE TECHS WERE GREAT…NOW YOU RISK EVER BEING ABLE TO USE YOUR COMPUTER AGAIN, MY OPINION. YOU CAN WAIT HOURS TO BE CONNECTED AND THEY HAVE A 3 TIER SYSTEM. ONLY THE 3RD TIER HAD TECHS WHO CAN REPAIR. MANY OF THEM DON’T SEEM TO KNOW WHAT THE HELL THEY’RE DOING. DELETED FILES WITH TWO YEARS OF PICTURE, GONE. DON’T KNOW WHAT THIS GUY DID BUT EMAIL IS SOO SCREWED UP WITH MISSING FOLDERS AND 3 REPEATS OF SO MANY EMAILS. MY “ALL MAIL”" HAS BEEN PRETTY EMPTIED OUT. BEST BUY OFFERS THE SERVICE AND THEN DOESN’T HAVE ADEQUATE OR QUALIFID PEOPLE WORKING. YES, SAVE YOUR MONEY THE QUALITY OF THIS SERVICE HAS DIMINISHED TO VERY UNSTISFACTORY OVER THE LAST YEAR AND A HALF. ESCALATED THIS TO EXEC OFFICE AND THEY DON’T KNOW WHEN I WILL GET A CALL BACK TODAY. SO FAR IT’S NOON AND IT LOOKS LIKE I’LL BE STUCK HERE ALL DAY. THANKS BEST BUY!!! YOU HAVE NO REGARD FOR YOUR CUSTOMER.

    HAD ONE CHARMING PERSON TELL ME THEY DON’T RECOVER ANYTHING ON YOUR COMPUTER…REALLY? YOU LOST EVERYTHING FOR ME WHEN YOU WERE SUPOSED TO BE FIXING SOMETHING ELSE.

    DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND ALOT OF GRIEF. STAY AWAY FROM BEST BUY AND THEIR
    GEEKSQUAD.

  9. Barbara
    Jan 30, 2014

    1

    Bought a new all-in-one HP at Best Buy and signed up for Geek Squad service. I wanted to have my external hard drive data transferred and the antivirus software and Microsoft office loaded so I waited in line to speak to the Geeks. I didn’t have my external hard drive with me so I went home and brought it back. I had to wait in line again. When I dropped I off, the Geek tech that helped me was very casual and said he couldn’t find my computer but would find it later and stuck a piece of paper with my name on it (not taped or anything) on top of the hard drive. By his casual, uncaring attitude I figured I would never see the hard drive again. I made an appointment for pickup for 6 pm. I arrived a 6 and had to wait in line. People who had no appointments were waiting in line, too. So what is the point of making an appointment again? Anyway, when I finally got to speak to someone (you guessed it! it was the same Geek tech from before. He struggled to find my computer and brought it out (with the hard drive) and asked if I want him to open it up. Are you kidding??? When he did open it up there was no power cord. He had to go find one in back. I asked some techy questions (Windows 8) and he said Google your questions like I do – that’s how I learned most of what I know. Seriously?? When he packed it up for me I asked if someone could carry it to the car and he said of course but then forgot and had to be reminded. The guard at the door was told to carry it to the car for me but when I came back in he was too busy, so I did it myself . 10 minutes into my drive home I got a call from Geek tech telling me he had forgotten to put the power cord in and to please turn around and come pick it up…..what the……..??? Not good omen for future service. If Geek tech seriously got his education on Google, than it’s an educated guess that Best Buy pays minimum wage to these techs and they are not skilled or experienced. Would have been good to know before I bought the plan.

  10. Georgie Trammell
    Jan 26, 2014

    1

    I will NEVER US GEEK SQUAD again.
    I had a virus and took my CPU in to be fixed. What a mess. My Office 2010 no longer works correctly, It is slower. Thank Goodness I have a back up of the hard drive, actually several backups.
    There are programs that were install on the machine at the time of purchase that seem to be missing as well as part of the files I specifically told them NOT to DELETE.
    Went this machine needs more help – I’ll be going to SafePCFIX. Cannot understand why a good tech is so hard to find and the ones at Best Buy are so bad. Actually I give them less than one star/

  11. Leslie
    Jan 20, 2014

    1

    Signed up for Geek Squad remote computer tech support on 1/10/14. Went through a hour of prelim condition scanning; was told that I needed a 3rd level tech to access my system for problems; waited 3 hours, nothing ever happened; never heard back from them. Called again 1/17/2014 and was told that there would be up to a 3 hour wait for a tech to log into my system. I though more of Geek Squad from a previous experience several years ago. I’m completely dissatisfied. They recomended that I call in yet a 3rd time at 5am in the morning when the wait would be shorter or not at all. 5:00 a.m.!! Wow! they’re totally ineffective these days – expect the customer to do eveything, including pay in advance for nothing.

  12. El Hombre
    Jan 18, 2014

    1

    So I purchased an 80 inch tv, you guys installed and scheduled a Saturday calibration. You then cancelled it the same morning as the appointment. I work m-f, 7am-6pm. Now your saying on the phone you can’t calibrate on Saturdays or after 6pm m-f. What the F@#% am I supposed to DO !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. J Edmund Olivier
    Jan 15, 2014

    2

    Sloppy work Squad, Paid in full for Geek Squad protection plan for our phones, had one damaged, sent it in and they took 5 days to send me the wrong phone, then had to re-order the repaired phone so another 6 days and still do not have a phone in my hands.

  14. After 3 weeks without my laptop the Geek Squad repair service in Kentucky sent it back saying they couldn’t repair the keyboard because they couldn’t fine the part. I went on Amazon and found a replacement keyboard in less than 4 minutes. My $35 was wasted. Change your name to Moron Squad.

  15. Christy
    Jan 10, 2014

    1

    I was transferred 4 times and it took 2 hours to update my Kaspersky. We have 2 other devices and after this contract is up we will be shopping for another service. Your tech. Knew NOTHING. I would certainly never pay for this service. Especially after this encounter.

  16. I am writing this as a special article about my experiences with the @GeekSquad at @BestBuy. About 12 months ago I had to make a claim with my geek squad protection service and after waiting about a week to receive my used refurbished phone I was unpleasantly surprised to make the trip to the store only to be given a replacement phone not only in worse condition than what I already had but the phone would not even turn on. They first figured it was dead so they plugged it in. As they all stood around waiting both the Best Buy store associates and a manager continued to attempt to turn it on. Then after about 10 minutes they asked a couple of the geek squad employees to try. Two of them scratched their head and one finally said and giggled “That is a bricked phone”. After about an hour of being there I was given an option. I could either have them start over the claim and they would again put in another order for a used and refurbished phone in hopes that I would receive a working phone this time or I could pay and upgrade and extend my contract in order to leave with a working phone. I chose the later. Now fast forward to Dec. 27th 2013, I am plagued again by a phone that barely works or functions and I take it in to the Geek Squad and they tell me how the last experience never happens and that this is such a fast and efficient that they call it “RAPID EXCHANGE REPLACEMENT” so I agreed and he had told me this would be quick and painless….. Today is January 4th 2014 and the @GeekSquad at @BestBuy still does not have any more insight or information on the status of my RAPID EXCHANGE today as they did the day they began. I was told I would only have recourse if 14 days have passed in which they would be force to give me a new phone. So basically I just have to pay the $198 a month I am paying for a service in which I cannot use the phone so lets estimate the waiting of 14 days costs me nearly $100 of service in which I cannot use the service and wait. I have roughly 6-8 hours of my times calling Best Buy at both a local level and beyond, the Geek Squad both at the store level and main office, and countless emails…… and the best to date I have been given is that it is PROCESSING…. the same status it was given the moment the claim was started

  17. Charles Graves
    Dec 31, 2013

    1

    Took my laptop to Best Buy Geeksquad to fix internet connection and transfer data. They did the transfer, but lost my password. They would not help me reset password. Wanted me to pay another $99.00 to reset what they broke. Poor customer service. It cost me another $75.00 to get it open by another firm.

  18. dennis
    Dec 30, 2013

    5

    Service by James at the Tacoma store was outstanding….THANKS

  19. If I could give a -70 I would. Took computer to GeekSquad @ Best Buy Jantzen Beach, Portland OR. Along with virus removal they were to remove several programs, repair DVD, and fix UTube which was fuzzy & pixled. Got computer back next day & 3 items + UTube were missed. A week later called John the Manager & he was more concerned that I had waited to call him than the failure of repairs. Called GeekSquad online & he spent 3.5 hrs remote repairs. UTube worked approximately 1/2 hrs & returned to fuzzy & pixiled. Called GeekSquad & on hold 20 min, tech checked machine remotely & then transferred to another tech who was suppose to hook up to computer remotely. 1/2 hr no tech. Shut down. Called back and another tech did same check up (analyzing) and then transferred me to another tech. Computer on 3.5 hrs and no tech hookup for remote. Left 2 messages for John & he never replied. Called Geek Squad 2 days ago twice and each time on hold extended period of time. Gave up. Called & demanded sjupervisor who was going to check on refund of contract funds I paid for. No word from them as yet. I have never seen a bigger bunch of idiots with no brains in their heads much less any knowledge of computers, courtesy or respect. This company should be out of business.

  20. Victoria
    Dec 9, 2013

    1

    I came in the other day to have my laptop looked at. I accidentally tripped over my charging cord the night before while it was still plugged in and apparently it messed something up and it wasn’t charging properly. Geek squad was my first resort considering they are down the street from my house. Although the gentleman at the front desk was very sweet and concerned about the problems I was having, I feel he didn’t know what he was talking about. They apparently took my computer to the back for the “tech guy” to take a look at it. After about 10 minutes came out and basically said there was nothing they could do and my best bet was the buy a new computer. There was no way they were able to make a diagnostic that fast about my computer when they didn’t even open it up, all they did was look at the appearance of my computer. If you call yourself a repair shop aren’t you supposed to try and “repair” my computer not brush it off to the side.

    They offered me deals about sending it to their main IT office if Kentucky which I would have to pay a $35 shipping fee and whatever the charges it would be for the diagnostic and “if” they could fix the problem. They also offered me like a $100 deal for a back up hard drive plan onto the new computer I was apparently supposed to buy from them.

    I will not be coming back to geek squad for ANY of my computer problems.

1 2 3 43